Time for Another Art Day

I have had a thing for art galleries ever since I took Art History at school, so I’m making the most of not having a day job and trying to have regular art days. The other thing is that I have previously visited the more touristy mainstream galleries like the Tate Modern and the National Portrait Gallery, so I’m trying to focus on going to some new and different galleries, before I head back to the old faithfuls.

On one of my walks I met a woman who was also interested in art, and she recommended  two art galleries I hadn’t previously heard of – the White Cube (http://whitecube.com) and the Newport St Gallery so when Janine and I decided an art day was in order, I suggested these two galleries.

The White Cube has two venues, Masons Yard and Bermondsey St, and we visited the Masons Yard one, because it was more convenient. The gallery space is close to the Green Park tube station between Jermyn St (think men’s business shirts and suits) and St James Square. The first thing you notice about the White Cube is the building itself. It is as its name suggests a white cube and is surrounded by old buildings, and is starkly modern but somehow it fits.

Looking out from the White Cube

The White Cube was exhibiting the works of the American Artist Wayne Thiebaus (the exhibition finished on 2 July), one of America’s foremost painters and this show had works from 1962 to the present. I admired his use of soft pastel colours and how when you looked really closely at these works he could use these colours together to suggest something quite different when you stood back from them.

From there we headed back to Green Park station, and stumbled on a real treat – a private art gallery that was holding a Matisse exhibition. The exhibition was quite diverse, including sculpture, paintings and prints. The prices ranged from £80,000 for a print to £23 million for the one I had my photo taken in front of!

The Newport St Gallery (https://www.newportstreetgallery.com) is Damien Hirst  territory and a 5 -10 minute walk from Vauxhall Station. It’s pretty out there, but if you’re interested in thought provoking modern art it is well worth visiting. If you’re not – go for the restaurant, its called Prescription and the decor is what can only described as pharmacy chic! Whether you like the decor or not the food was superb and I really enjoyed my pea and asparagus risotto – it was cooked perfectly and was delicious.

As for the exhibition I’m going to let the photos speak for themselves – there was definitely a bit of an ecological theme going on, and also I think about power and violence too.

While I’m in London I’m going to try and keep up this habit of visiting galleries – it is one of the attractions of this great city, and I will be able to see a lot of stuff that probably wont make the journey to New Zealand.

Footnote – Susie I included that photo just for you – I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a comment